Books Like Star Wars That Every Jedi Will Love

books-like-star-wars

I have a confession to make: I am a total Star Wars nerd. Like, I watched the trailer for Stars Wars IX: The Rise of Skywalker with literal tears in my eyes and fangirl squeals in my throat. Like, this is currently live footage of my desk at work:

Star Wars IX: The Rise of Skywalker desk books like star wars
Just pure nerdiness right there…

I think what draws myself and so many others to the Star Wars universe is the richness of detail: every character has a complex backstory, the worlds are so unique (I mean, Cloud City? The coolest), and there’s just something about the monomyth/Joseph Campbell story line buried inside every Star Wars story that every human enjoys.

If you dig those aspects of Star Wars, and you simply cannot wait for the next movie, fear not (especially since fear is from the dark side of the Force)! Being a fellow nerd, I have some suggestions for books like Star Wars that will totally appeal to the Jedi in all of us:

The Helium-3 Series by Homer Hickam

This series has got it all: a relatable hero, space colonies, and a fight for the entire human race. If you like adventure, creative world building, and a little espionage, then the Helium-3 series is a total must read.

The Chronicles of Brothers Series by Wendy Alec

Talk about epic… this series is literally the OG of good vs. evil. We go pre-history in The Chronicles of Brothers to follow the archangels Gabriel, Michael, and Lucifer as they battle it out, supernatural style. May I also suggest the audiobook for this series? Nathanial Brady imbues the narration with a ton of life and you’ll totally be sucked in.

The Magician’s Nephew by C.S. Lewis

Of course, the entire Chronicles of Narnia series is amazing, thrilling and everything you could want as a Star Wars fan. But my personal fave of the bunch is The Magician’s Nephew, just because of all the epic worlds we get to venture into within one small book.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

I’ve discussed how Madeleine L’Engle is an important person in my childhood/reading life/life in general, so of course A Wrinkle of Time is on the list. This one has got all the factors you love in Star Wars: crazy space travel, fascinating worlds, and a reluctant hero. It’s lovely in all its ways.

The Bright Empires Series by Stephen Lawhead

If you need a book that has

  1. Space and time travel
  2. Stone age landscape
  3. Egyptian sphinxes

..then Stephen Lawhead’s The Bright Empires series is for you! And if you don’t know if you need this, you do. You really do.

What books like Star Wars are you reading to hold you over for the release of Stars Wars IX: The Rise of Skywalker? Also…

Stars Wars IX: The Rise of Skywalker May the Force be with you books like star wars

Looking for more bookish recommendations? Check these out:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*